Hockey India names 24-member Indian Men’s Hockey Team to play Belgium

By | February 3, 2020

New Delhi, 3 Feb 2020: Hockey India on Monday named 24-member Indian Men’s Hockey squad for the upcoming matches against World No.1 Belgium in the FIH Hockey Pro League to be held on 8 and 9 February 2020 at the Kalinga Hockey Stadium, Bhubaneswar. 

The team which will be Captained by Manpreet Singh along with Vice Captain Harmanpreet Singh and includes new comer Raj Kumar Pal who was impressive in his stint with the India Colts team in the past season where they won a Silver Medal at the Sultan of Johor Cup in Malaysia. PR Sreejesh, Krishan Pathak, Gurinder Singh, Amit Rohidas, Surender Kumar, Jarmanpreet Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh are also part of the squad. 

Vivek Sagar Prasad, Chinglensana Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Hardik Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Mandeep Singh, Shamsher Singh, Gursahibjit Singh and Kothajit Singh, SV Sunil, Birendra Lakra, Gurjant Singh and Nilakanta Sharma will also be part of the 24-member squad. 

Speaking about the team selected to take on World Champions Belgium, Chief Coach Graham Reid said, “The objective of these matches of the FIH Hockey Pro League is to find the balance between giving players opportunities for Olympic selection, working out our strongest combinations and continuing to demonstrate that we can compete with the best teams in the world.”

Reid further stated, “Raj Kumar Pal has been rewarded for his outstanding form in the recent camps and named in the squad. He possesses extra-ordinary skills and speed, which if given the opportunity will excel against the World No.1 Belgium.”

Indian Team: 

1. PR Sreejesh,

2. Krishan Bahadur Pathak

3. Harmanpreet Singh 
   (Vice Captain)

4. Gurinder Singh

5. Amit Rohidas

6. Surender Kumar

7. Jarmanpreet Singh

8. Rupinder Pal Singh

9. Manpreet Singh   

10. Vivek Sagar Prasad

11. Chinglensana Singh

12. Raj Kumar Pal 

13. Dilpreet Singh

14. Hardik Singh

15. Ramandeep Singh

16. Lalit Kumar Upadhyay

17. Mandeep Singh

18. Shamsher Singh

19. Gursahibjit Singh

20. Kothajit Singh Kadangbam

21. Birendra Lakra

22. Nilakanta Sharma

23. Gurjant Singh

24. SV Sunil

Category: Hockey

About Indian Sports Desk

A small team of experienced sub-editors handle this portal with stories from various sources, press releases and from our own set of reporters and writers. Our editors also edit and provide a perspective for some stories to inform the reader to read between the lines!