32 probables for Indian hockey camp at Bhubaneswar

By | January 25, 2020

New Delhi, 25 Jan 2020: After making an impressive start to their maiden campaign at the FIH Hockey Pro League with a brilliant 5-2 and 3-3 (SO 3-1) win against the Netherlands, Indian Men’s Hockey Team will regroup for the National Coaching Camp in Bhubaneswar ahead of their tie against World Champions Belgium on 8 and 9 February 2020. 
Hockey India on Saturday named 32 players for the Camp which will see the return of dragflicker and defender Varun Kumar who was out of action due to a nerve injury.  
The Core Group continues to remain the same with a mix of experienced and young players including PR Sreejesh, Krishan Bhadur Pathak, Suraj Karkera, Harmanpreet Singh, Surender Kumar, Birendra Lakra, Rupinder Pal Singh, Gurinder Singh, Amit Rohidas, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam, Manpreet Singh, Hardik Singh, Nilakanta Sharma and Vivek Sagar Prasad. 
Chinglensana Singh, who made a good comeback against the Netherlands after a year-long hiatus also finds his name in the group along with young Striker Dilpreet Singh, Rajkumar Pal, Nilam Sanjeep Xess and Dipsan Tirkey.
SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Simranjeet Singh, Mandeep Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Gursahibjit Singh, Shamsher Singh, Jarmanpreet Singh, Jaskaran Singh, Gurjant Singh and Sumit too have been called up.
“The next two weeks, we will continue to stay focused on the process we have put in place. Improved fitness was one of our key strengths and it is important we keep up the optimal level. The players got a good week’s break before returning to camp so I am expecting everyone to be fresh. As I had mentioned earlier, we need to improve one-on-one tackling, that will be one of the main focuses of our camp, and we look forward to the challenge against the World Champions,” stated Chief Coach Graham Reid. 

File photo of Indian team celebrating after a goal. Photo: Hockey India
Players selected for the Camp:
P R Sreejesh
Krishan Bahadur Pathak
Suraj Karkera
Harmanpreet Singh 
Dilpreet Singh
Surender Kumar
Birendra Lakra
Rupinder Pal Singh
Gurinder Singh
Amit Rohidas 
Kothajit Singh
Manpreet Singh
Hardik Singh
Nilakanta Sharma
Vivek Sagar Prasad
Simranjeet Singh 
Akashdeep Singh 
Ramandeep Singh
S V Sunil 
Mandeep Singh 
Lalit Kumar Upadhyay 
Gursahibjit Singh 
Shamsher Singh 
Varun Kumar
Jarmanpreet Singh 
Dipsan Tirkey 
Nilam Sanjeep Xess 
Jaskaran Singh 
Rajkumar Pal 
Gurjant Singh Sumit
Chinglensana Singh
Category: Hockey

About Indian Sports Desk

A small team of experienced sub-editors handle this portal with stories from various sources, press releases and from our own set of reporters and writers. Our editors also edit and provide a perspective for some stories to inform the reader to read between the lines!