Prathima, Shekar win singles titles: Tabebuia Open Wheelchair Tennis 2019

By | December 7, 2019

Bengaluru, 7 Dec 2019: Shekar Veeraswamy of Karnataka regained the men’s singles crown and the
top-ranking beating K Karthik of Tamil Nadu 6-2, 7-5 and won the 4 th Tabebuia Open AITA ranking
wheelchair tennis tournament 2019 held under the aegis of KSLTA and Indian Wheelchair Tennis
Tour here on Saturday.
In a repeat final, Prathima N Rao of Karnataka retained her singles crown defeating Shilpa KP while
Shekar partnered with S Balachander of Tamil Nadu to win the doubles title also. Earlier, Shilpa and
Nalina won the women’s doubles title. The finalists can represent India in the Asian ranking para
Results: All finals: Men’s Singles: Shekar Veeraswamy (Kar) bt K Karthik (TN) 6-2, 7-5;
Women’s Singles: Prathima N Rao (Kar) bt Shilpa KP (Kar) 6-3, 7-5;
Men’s Doubles: Shekar Veeraswamy (Kar) & S Balachander (TN) bt Indrajeeth Pandey (TN) &
Manojkanth Somasundaram 6-0, 6-0.

Sekhar Veeraswamy and Prathima (right)
Prathima N Rao, the defending champion beats Shilpa to retain her women’ssingles crown int he Tabebuia Open 2019 wheelchair tennis tourney here at KSLTA on Saturday.
Category: Tennis

About Indian Sports Desk

A small team of experienced sub-editors handle this portal with stories from various sources, press releases and from our own set of reporters and writers. Our editors also edit and provide a perspective for some stories to inform the reader to read between the lines!