Jagan Kumar clinches seventh National title

By | December 17, 2018

December 16th  2018,Chennai: Nursing severe wrist pain, Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing)managed to finish sixth in the concluding race, but the eight points he scored were sufficient for him to clinch his seventh National title even as Rajiv Sethu led a podium sweep for Honda Ten10 Racing as the curtains came down on the MRF MMSC fmsci Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship 2018 at the MMRT, here on Sunday.Jagan, who had crashed heavily in the first race yesterday after making contact withteam-mate Ahamed Arif, was unable to generate his usual pace and was content topick up the points he required to seal the championship with 158 points. Ahead of him, Sethu was in a race of his own to win comfortably from team-mates SarathKumar and Mathana Kumar to finish second in the championship behind Jagan with 145 points. While Jagan ended the season with two wins, Sethu won four races, but two non-finishes in Round 3, cost him precious points. Mathana (130) ended up third in the championship in this category.Earlier, Hyderabad’s Sathyanarayana Raju (Gusto Racing) rode a smart race andfinish third to take the championship with 159 points in the Pro-Stock 301-400cccategory. Another Hyderabad rider, Rahil Pillarishetty (Sparks Racing) won fromPrabhu Arnuagiri (Team Alisha Abdullah) who finished second in the championshipwith 147 points ahead of Amarnath Menon (Gusto Racing, 142).

Karthik Mateti (Sparks Racing), a 19-year old Commerce student from Hyderabad,emerged champion in the Stock 165cc category by scoring his third win in five racesto finish the season with 111 points, well clear of team-mate Aditya Rao Immaneni(70). Incidentally, 13-year old schoolboy from Chennai Kavin Samar Quintal (TeamRACR), became the youngest rider this season to win championship points as hefinished ninth.In one of the closest-finishes of the season, Bengaluru-based Anish DamodaraShetty (Honda Ten10 Racing) pipped TVS Racing’s Kannan Subramaniam by threethousandth of a second in the Pro-Stock 165cc race as the duo crossed the linelocked together. Shetty had already sealed the championship in this category andended his season on a successful note.The results (Provisional):NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP (all 8 laps unless mentioned) – Super Sport 165cc(Race 2): 1. Rajiv Sethu (Honda Ten10 Racing) (15mins, 41.626secs); 2. SarathKumar (Honda Ten10 Racing) (15:47.183); 3. Mathana Kumar (Honda Ten10 Racing) (15:47.683). Final rider standings: 1. Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing, 158points); 2. Rajiv Sethu (145); 3. Mathana Kumar (130). Team championship: TVSRacing. Manufacturer championship: TVS.Pro-Stock 301-400cc (Race 2): 1. Rahil Pillarishetty (Sparks Racing) (15:29.004); 2.Prabhu Arunagiri (Team Alisha Abdullah) (15:29.197); 3. Sathyanarayana Raju(Gusto Racing India) (15:32.809). Final rider standings: 1. Sathyanarayana Raju(159 points); 2. Prabhu Arunagiri (147); 3. Amarnath Menon (Gusto Racing, 142).Team championship: Gusto Racing. Manufacturer championship: KTM.Pro-Stock 165cc (Race-2): 1. Anish Damodara Shetty (Honda Ten10 Racing)(16:12.523); 2. Kannan Subramaniam (TVS Racing) (16:12.520); 3. Anup Kumar(Team Alisha Abdullah) (16:14.942). Final rider standings: 1. Anish Damodara Shetty(181 points); 2. Kevin Kannan (Rockers Racing, 123); 3. Senthil Kumar (HondaTen10 Racing, 118 points). Team championship: Honda Ten10 Racing.Manufacturer championship: Honda.Stock 165cc (4 laps): Karthik Mateti (Sparks Racing) (08:41.788); 2. Venkatesan I(Pvt) (08:42.661); 3. Anand Rajendran (Pvt) (08:46.975). Final rider standings: 1.Karthik Mateti (111 points); 2. Aditya Rao Immaneni (Sparks Racing, 70); 3. AnandRajendran (50). Team championship: Sparks Racing. Manufacturer championship:Yamaha.ONE-MAKE CHAMPIONSHIP – Honda Talent Cup (CBR 250) Race-2: 1. AnishDamodara Shetty (Bengaluru) (16:36.267); 2. Abhishek Vasudev (Bengaluru)(16:36.474); 3.Aravind Balakrishnan (Chennai) (16:36.567). Final rider standings: 1.Abhishek Vasudev (171); 2. Anish Damodar Shetty (165); 3. Senthil Kumar(Chennai, 140).CBR 150 (Race 2, 6 laps): 1. Mohamed Mikail (Chennai) (13:25.633); 2.Anandhu KK(Chennai) (13:27.569); 3. Varoon S (Chennai) (13:47.180). Race-3: 1. MohamedMikail (Chennai) (13:10.101); 2. Kritik Vasan Habib (Gadag) (13:14.564); 3. AnandhuKK (13:16.475). Final rider standings: 1. Mohamed Mikail (233 points); 2. AnandhuKK (151); 3. Kritik Vasan Habib (133).TVS Girls (Race 2, 5 laps): 1. Ann Jennifer AS (Chennai) (11:57.962); 2. RyhanaBee (Chennai) (12:02.281); Elakiya Lee (Chennai) (12:13.653). Final rider standings:1. Ann Jennifer (111 points); 2. Ryhana Bee (104); 3. Elakiya Lee (52).TVS Apache RR 310 Open (Race 2): 1. Deepak Ravikumar (Chennai) (15:32.651);2. Kannan K (Chennai) (15:34.875); 3. Amarnath Menon K (Calicut) (15:34.881).Final rider standings: 1. Deepak Ravikumar (Chennai, 176 points); 2. Vivek Pillai(Chennai, 137); 3. Yashas RL (Bengaluru, 136.Support event – Alisha Abdullah Inter-College Star Race (Race-3, 6 laps): 1. MervinKirani (Trichy) (12:47.854); R Vijay Shekar (Chennai) (13:12.758); 3. Reuben Rocky(Kochi) (13:33.948).About Madras Motor Sports ClubThe Madras Motor Sports Club has been the pioneer in developing and promotingmotorsport in India since 1953, and we look to further improve in the years to come.It is the club’s endeavor to provide more opportunities for competitors, and to thisend, it has chalked out various progressive programmes. From the days ofSholavaram , MMSC built its own racetrack which was inaugurated in 1979 andsecured its FIA Grade-2 international certification in 2014, making it the only clubwhich owns such a facility that has been further upgraded with international-standardPaddock, complete with VIP hospitality suites, 20 spacious garages and a separatePaddock on the western side with its own circuit. The club has organised thePorsche Super Cup, Formula Campos, Formula Asia, Asian touring carchampionships, Formula 3, Tata Prima Truck racing championship, the FIM AsiaRoad Racing Championships (2-wheelers) besides a host of other motorsport eventsover the years. The club also has active participation for its events from vehiclemanufacturers who also use the Madras Motor Race Track (MMRT) extensively fortesting their products.

Category: Motorsports Tags: , , ,

About Indian Sports Desk

A small team of experienced sub-editors handle this portal with stories from various sources, press releases and from our own set of reporters and writers. Our editors also edit and provide a perspective for some stories to inform the reader to read between the lines!