Anish Shetty, Ann Jennifer emerge National champions

By | December 15, 2018

December 15, Chennai: On a day of drama, marked by crashes leading tounexpected turnarounds, Bengaluru’s Anish Damodara Shetty and local girl AnnJennifer emerged champions in the Pro-Stock 165cc and Girls (Stock 165cc)categories, respectively, as the fifth and final round of the MRF MMSC fmsci IndianNational Motorcycle Racing Championship dished out edge-of-the-seat excitement atthe MMRT, here on Saturday.The penultimate day of the 2018 racing season saw Deepak Ravikumar of TVSRacing, running third in the last of the six laps, clinching his maiden win in thepremier Super Sport 165cc class after championship leaders and his team-mates,Jagan Kumar and Ahamed Arif crashed out after coming together at Turn-1 on thethird lap. Earlier in the race, pole-sitter Rajiv Sethu (Honda Ten10 Racing) lostground when the “clip-on” on the handlebar gave away in the second lap, but he stillmanaged to finish third while team-mate Mathana Kumar got up from a fall, followingcontact with Sarath Kumar, also of Honda Ten10 Racing, two corners before thefinish to come in second behind Ravikumar.Despite the crash, Jagan, eyeing his seventh consecutive National title, continues tolead the championship with 148 points with Ahamed second (128), followed by Sethu(120) and Mathana Kumar (115) with the second and last race to be run tomorrow(Sunday).Amidst all this action, Ann Jennifer was pushed to the limits by her Sparks Racingteam-mate Ryhana Bee who even briefly led before yielding ground in the last lap.Jennifer thus clinched her fourth win in five races to seal the championship in hercategory.Meanwhile, Anish Shetty, a techie and part-time gym trainer from Bengaluru, showedremarkable patience to win the Pro-Stock 165cc race by overtaking three frontrunners on the last lap. It was 23-year old Shetty’s fourth win and took his tally to156, way ahead of second-placed Kevin Kannan (Rockers Racing) who remained on115 after crashing out in the race. Shetty, thus, pouched the championship in thiscategory, with one more race to be run tomorrow.

Later, Hyderabad’s Satyanarayana Raju (Gusto Racing) won a tight race in the ProStock 301-400cc category to take a 14-point lead over team-mate Amarnath Menonin the championship stakes. Raju leads with 144 points to Menon’s 130 while PrabhuArunagiri (Team Alisha Abdullah), who finished third in the race today despitestarting from pole position, is on 129 going into Sunday’s race of the double-header. Another Hyderabad rider, Rahil Pillarishetty (Sparks Racing) came in second behindRaju in a close finish.The results (Provisional – all six laps unless mentioned):NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP – Super Sport 165cc (Race-1): 1. Deepak Ravikumar(TVS Racing) (11mins, 54.648secs); 2. Mathana Kumar (Honda Ten10 Racing)(12:39.132); 3. Rajiv Sethu (Honda Ten10 Racing) (13:07.859).Pro-Stock 301-400cc (Race-1): 1. Sathyanarayana Raju (Gusto Racing India)(11:32.361); 2.Rahil PIllarishetty (Sparks Racing) (11:32.647); 3. Prabhu Arunagiri(Team Alisha Abdullah) (11:32.741).Pro-Stock 165cc (Race-1): 1. Anish Damodara Shetty (Bengaluru) (12:13.060); 2.Anup Kumar (Team Alisha Abdullah) (12:14.279); 3. Kannan Subramaniam (TVSRacing) (12:14.662).Girls (Stock 165cc, 5 laps): 1. Ann Jennifer (Sparks Racing) (11:19.207); 2. RyhanaBee (Sparks Racing) (11:19.362); 3. Nivetha Kumar (Pvt) (11:38.435).Stock 165cc (Heat-1, 5 laps): 1. Varun Sobhan (Speed Up Racing) (10:55.058); 2.Anand Rajendran (Pvt) (10:55.086); 3. Venkatesan I (Pvt) (10:55.270).ONE-MAKE CHAMPIONSHIP – TVS Apache RR 310 (Race-1): 1. DeepakRavikumar (Chennai) (11:44.741); 2. Peddu Sriharsha (Hyderabad) (11:46.800); 3.Amarnath Menon (Kozhikode) (11:46.961).TVS 200 (Novice, Race-1): 1. Karthik Mateti (Hyderabad) (13:54.912); 2. AnandRajendran (Chennai) (13:56.833); 3. Alexander AS (Chennai) (13:57.024). Race-2:1.Anand Rajendran (Chennai) 13:56.527; 2. Alexander AS (Chennai) (14:07.923);3.Anish Samson (Bengaluru) (14:11.845).TVS Girls (Race-1): 1. Ann Jenifer AS (Chennai) (11:55.791); 2. Ryhana Bee(Chennai) (12:01.809); 3. Elakiya R (Chennai) (12:25.938).Honda Talent Cup – CBR 250 (Race-1, 6 laps): 1. Abhishek Vasudev (Bengaluru)(12:22.261); 2. Anish Damodara Shetty (Hubballi) (12:22.641); 3. AravindBalakrishnan (Chennai) (12:29.805). CBR 150 (Novice, Race-1): 1. Mohamed Mikail(Chennai) (13:06.889); 2. Kritik Vasant Habib (Gadag) (13:14.110); 3. Anandhu KK(Chennai) (13:15.080).Support Event – Alisha Abdullah Inter-College Star Race (Race-1): 1. David Ryan(Chennai) (12:41.492); 2. R Vijay Shekar (Chennai) (12:52.715); 3. Mervin Kiran(Trichy) (13:14.555). Race-2: 1. David Ryan (Chennai) (12:23.077); 2. R VijayShekar (Chennai) (12:23.678); 3. R Shiyam (Chennai) (12:54.380).About Madras Motor Sports ClubThe Madras Motor Sports Club has been the pioneer in developing and promotingmotorsport in India since 1953, and we look to further improve in the years to come.It is the club’s endeavor to provide more opportunities for competitors, and to thisend, it has chalked out various progressive programmes. From the days ofSholavaram , MMSC built its own racetrack which was inaugurated in 1979 and secured its FIA Grade-2 international certification in 2014, making it the only clubwhich owns such a facility that has been further upgraded with international-standardPaddock, complete with VIP hospitality suites, 20 spacious garages and a separatePaddock on the western side with its own circuit. The club has organised thePorsche Super Cup, Formula Campos, Formula Asia, Asian touring carchampionships, Formula 3, Tata Prima Truck racing championship, the FIM AsiaRoad Racing Championships (2-wheelers) besides a host of other motorsport eventsover the years. The club also has active participation for its events from vehiclemanufacturers who also use the Madras Motor Race Track (MMRT) extensively fortesting their products.

Category: Motorsports Tags: , , ,

About Indian Sports Desk

A small team of experienced sub-editors handle this portal with stories from various sources, press releases and from our own set of reporters and writers. Our editors also edit and provide a perspective for some stories to inform the reader to read between the lines!