Team Champions bags 7 podiums; Bopaiah third overall: INRC Coffee Day Rally

By | December 2, 2018

Champions all: The Team Champions drivers who won 7 podiums in the Coffee Day Rally

Chikkamagaluru, 2 December 2018: Team Champions won top honours in three classes including INRC3 with overall seven podiums in the Indian National Rally Championship (INRC) Round 4 and the supporting races of FMSCI Cup, which concluded here on Sunday with Karna Kadur winning the Coffee Day Rally round once again this year.

Making their presence felt in every category, Team Champions which entered the Indian rally scene in a big way supporting 14 teams in 2018, earned three third places in the top three categories besides winning all the other three classes in the Round 4 Coffee Day Rally. Competing against the top names of Indian rallying Bopaiah and co-driver Gagan Karumbaiah finished a creditable third behind Karna Kadur (Nikhil Pai) and Amittrajit Ghosh (Ashwin Naik) in the overall classification. Michu Ganapathy with co-driver Venu Ramesh Kumar came third behind another two giants Amittrajit Ghosh and Gaurav Gill, who finished first and second in the INRC1 class.

Arjun Rao ably navigated by Milen George won the INRC3 in the national championship round clocking the best time in his Volkswagen Polo which was tuned by Chettinad Sporting and backed by Team Champions. Rao and George duo beat teammates Fabid Ahmer and co-driver Shahid Salman, who too performed well in their Chettinad Sporting prepared Polo.

Vikram Gowda (co-driver Sudheendra BG won the FMSCI 2-wheel drive Cup Chikkamagaluru round while veteran Sanjay Agarwal with lady navigator Smitha Prasad brought home their Champions sponsored Grand Vitara home in a stunning time to beat Sachin Murthy (co-driver Sathyapal) and Avin Nanjappa-Suraj pair to second and third respectively in the FMSCI 4-wheel drive Cup, the two supporting categories in the non-National Championship events, which are a stepping stones to success.

“With the aim of bringing in more drivers and making them champions, we are glad to have won all the three lower categories. At the same time, the talent and dedication shown by our drivers and tuners reaped in a bounty bringing in three podiums in the top classes. There is a champion in everyone and Team Champions strives to realise that potential,’’ said Subhakar Rao, Chairman of Champions Group.

Vamsi, CEO and Director, who is heading the Motorsports Division said: “It is a team effort and the dedication of the drivers, co-drivers, support teams and tuners have brought in admirable results. Our focus to bring in more champions and to make sure that no champion is wanting in showcase their talent and realising their potential for want of resources.’’

The results:

Overall: 1. Karna Kadur / Nikhil Pai (Arka Motorsports) (02hrs,19mins,59.9secs); 2. Amittrajit Ghosh / Ashwin Naik (Mahindra Adventure) (02:22:15.3); 3. Bopaiah KM / Gagan Karumbaiah (Team Champions)(02: 22: 18.8).

INRC-1: Ghosh / Naik; 2. Gaurav Gill / Musa Sherif (Mahindra Adventure) (02: 23: 49.2); 3. Michu Ganapathy / Venu Rameshkumar (Team Champions) (02:27: 18.1).

INRC-2: 1, Kadur / Pai; 2. Bopaiah / Karumbaiah; 3. Younus Ilyas / Harish KN (Pvt.)(02:22:34.7).

INRC-3: 1. Arjun Rao / Milen George (Team Champions supported, tuned by Chettinad Sporting) (02:24:29.4); 2. Fabid Ahmer (Team Champions supported, tuned by Chettinad Sporting) (02:26:34.7); 3. Aroor Vikram Rao / Somayya (Team Falkon) (02:27:57.4).

FMSCI 2WD Cup: 1. Vikram Gowda / Sudheendra BG (Team Champions) (02:31:51.6); 2. Prakhyat Shirole / Bharath SM (Pvt.) (02:32:53.0); 3.Manoj Mohanan / Sob George (02:35:32.7).

FMSCI 4WD Cup: 1. Sanjay Agarwal / Smitha Prasad (Team Champions) (02:31:02.0); 2. Sachin Murthy / Satyapal (02:35:00.5); 3. Avin Nanjappa / Suraj M (Pvt) (02:39:26.5).