TN’s Pushpa to lead Indian U18 women’s team: U18 Asian Basketball

By | October 27, 2018

Indian girls pose for a promo shoot ahead of the U18 Asian Championship on Friday in Bengaluru. A FIBA Basketball image

Bengaluru, 26 Oct 2018: The Indian team players were presented with their colours on Friday by the Basketball Federation of India after announcing the team. Prolific scorer and center Pushpa Senthil Kumar of Tamil Nadu, who represented India in the Jakarta Asiad will lead the team in the 24th edition of Asia’s flagship U18 women’s basketball Championship to be held at Sree Kanteerava Stadium here from October 28 to November 3.

Seventeen-year Pushpa is nursing a minor injury and is expected to recover on time for the first match against Iran on Sunday in Division B. Missing from the line-up due to injuries are forward Vaishnavi Devi and centre Sanjana Ramesh. There are four players from Tamil Nadu and three from Kerala besides one each from Telangana, Punjab, Chattisgarh, Delhi and hosts Karnataka. Coorgi Harshitha Kelttira Bopaiah, 18, is the only player from Karnataka.  Kerala’s Ann Mary Zachariah, a wily Centre, is the baby of the team at 15 years.

Pushpa Senthil Kumar (captain)

For the first time in the history of FIBA Asia youth competition, just like in the senior championships, an All-Star Five and Most Valuable Player (MVP) awards will be presented. BFI has also announced a cash prize of Rs.10 lakh if India wins Division B to gain promotion to Div A.

Team: Arya A Sreeramaneni, #4, Telangana, Sakshi Sharma, #5, Punjab, Dharshini Thirunavukkarasu, #6, Tamil Nadu, Harshita Bopaiah, #7, Karnataka, Pushpa Senthil Kumar (Captain), #8, Tamil Nadu, Srishti Suren, #9, Tamil Nadu, Ishwarya Janardhan, #10, Tamil Nadu, Sreekala Rani, #11, Kerala; Gulabsha Ali, #12, Chattisgarh;  Ann Mary Zachariah, #13, Kerala; Anumaria Shaju, #14, Kerala; Sudhantika Chakravortty, #15, Delhi. Manager: R Rajan; Chief Coach: Zoran Visic; Assistant Coaches: Thankachan MC, Priyanka Bhandari. Physiotherapist: Ranjan Sharma.

S.No Jersey # Name DoB State Tournaments Participated
1 #4 Arya Achuta Sreeramaneni 7 Sep 2001 Telangana
2 #5 Sakshi Sharma 10 Jan 2000 Punjab
3 #6 Dharshini Thirunavukkarasu 27 Mar 2000 Tamil Nadu
4 #7 Harshitha Kelttira Bopaiah 31 Jul 2000 Karnataka
5 #8 Centre Pushpa Senthil Kumar, Captain 18 Sep 2001 Tamil Nadu India: 2017 Fiba U16 W Asian Champ;

18th AG, Jakarta 2018

6 #9 Srishti Suren – Power Fwd 30 Apr 2000 Tamil Nadu 2016 Fiba U18 W Asian Champ
7 #10 Ishwarya Janardhanan, Fwd 15 Jan 2000 Tamil Nadu
8 #11 Sreekala Rani, Power Fwd 19 Jan 2001 Kerala 2017 Fiba U16 W Asian Champ
9 #12 Gulabsha Ali, Point Guard 16 Feb 2000 Chattisgarh 2016 Fiba U18 W Asian Champ
10 #13 Ann Mary Zachariah, Centre 5 Nov 2003 Kerala 2017 Fiba U16 W Asian Champ
11 14 Anumaria Chenganamattathil Shaju 15 May 2001 Kerala
12 15 Sudhantika Chakravortty, Centre 24 Aug 2000 Delhi 2016 Fiba U18 W Asian Champ
Category: Basketball Tags:

About Indian Sports Desk

A small team of experienced sub-editors handle this portal with stories from various sources, press releases and from our own set of reporters and writers. Our editors also edit and provide a perspective for some stories to inform the reader to read between the lines!