Karnataka girls hold Jharkand; Boys rout UP 8-4

By | September 19, 2018

Bengaluru, 19 Sept 2018: Karnataka men chalked out an easy win 8-4 win over Uttar Pradesh in the 3rd Hockey India 5-A-side Senior National Championship 2018 while Karnataka women did a brilliant job to hold fancied Jharkhand team 3-3 in the women’s Rink hockey tournament at the Hockey courts here on Wednesday.

Birajini Ekka drew the first blood for Jharkhand in the very opening minute but Kruthika restored parity within two minutes. However, Sima Kumar put Jharkhand ahead once again in the 10th minute and again it was Kruthika who drew level for Karnataka girls in the 11th minute and the hosts went on to take the lead at 3-2 with Pavithra PA on target in the 14th minute. However, unlike in the regular field hockey, five-a-side rink hockey is fast and furious and the Karnataka girls failed to withstand the pressure and conceded a goal once again to Ekka in the 19th to settle for a 3-3 draw.

Results:  Women: Hockey Haryana 5 (Manpreet Kaur 3rd min, Poonam Rani 3rd  min , Amandeep Kaur 8th min, Sarita 10th min, and Sonika 14th min) bt Hockey Punjab 1 (Narinder Kaur 15thmin);

Hockey Odisha 9 (Mariana Kujur 2nd 10th and 17th min, Elima Minz 6th 11th , Priyanka Ekka 7th and 20th  min, Manju Lakra 9th min, Asmita Barla 15th min) bt Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu 1;

Hockey Maharashtra 6 (Ramngaihzuali Ralte 1st 3rd and 20th min, Preeti Dubey 9th 14th and 18th min.) bt Uttar Pradesh Hockey 2 (Shyama Tidgam 10th and 12th min);

Hockey Karnataka drew 3 (Kruthika S.P 3rdand 11th min, Pavithra P.A 14th min.) drew with Hockey Jharkhand 3  (Birajini Ekka 1st and 19th min, Sima Kumari 10th min).

Men: Hockey Haryana 6 (Gagandeep Singh 5th min, Jagwant Singh 8th and 9th min, Manpreet 11th and 20th min, Bharat 12th min.) bt Hockey Maharashtra 4  (Taleb Shah 2nd min Sayyad Niyaz Rahim 4th and 15 min Tyron Pereira 5th min.); Hockey Odisha 2 (Ashis Topno 13th min, Teophil Kujur 14th min.) drew with Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu 2 (Wesley Benedict J Joshua 11th and 19th min.); Hockey Punjab 6 (Jaskaran Singh 4th  9th and 20th min, Satbir Singh 9th 18th and 20th min) bt Hockey Jharkhand 3  (Noyel Topno 17th 18th and 20th min.); Hockey Karnataka 8 (Mohd Raheel Mouseen 2nd, 16 and 18th  min, Pruthvi Raj 12thand 14th min, K.T.Cariappa 18th min, Abharan Sudev 20th and 20+ min.) bt Uttar Pradesh Hockey 4  (Ajay Yadav 9th and 12th min, Raj Kumar Pal 10th min, Sourabh Anand 16th min.)