Jagan Kumar of Team TVS Racing sets fastest time in Practice: Fmsci Bike Nationals

By | June 9, 2018

Alisha Abdullah during the practice session of Ladies class National Championship on Friday at Kari Motor Speedway. Image by Srinivasa Krishnan

Coimbatore, 08 June 2018: Reigning National champion Jagan Kumar of TVS Racing set the benchmark in the premier Super Sport Indian (165cc, Open) class by topping the time sheets in free practice session as the Rolon Round of the MRF MMSC fmsci Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship commenced at the Kari Motor Speedway, here on Friday.

Jagan, who notched his sixth consecutive National title last year, displayed good form as he clocked a best of one minute, 12.686 seconds, ahead of TVS Racing team-mates Deepak Ravikumar (01:12.959) and KY Ahamed (01:13.449).

Also among the quicker riders of the day was Prabhu Arunagiri of Team Alisha Abdullah who topped the Pro-Stock 301-400cc class practice session with a 01:12.698, while last year’s winner in this category Amarnath Menon (Gusto Racing India) was the fourth (01:13.503) behind team-mate Satyanarayana Raju (01:12.923) and Faraz Shariff (01:13.468), a private entrant from Bengaluru.

In the Pro-Stock (165cc) class, Anup Kumar (Team Alisha Abdullah) was the quickest with a timing of 01:15.959), well ahead of Anish Shetty (Honda Ten10 Racing, 01:17.592) and Kevin Kannan (Rockers Racing, 01:17.825).

Meanwhile, in the girls championship (Stock 165cc), Ann Jennifer clocked 01:25.797 to top the practice session in this category while last year’s first runner-up Ryhana Bee was second fastest in 01:26.353 with Shruthi Nagarajan coming in third at 01:26.873.

The results (Qualifying only):

National Championship – Stock 165cc (Novice, Batch 1): 1. Akshay V Murali (Apex Racing) (01:21.050); 2. Ashfaq Ahamed (Team 24 Racing) (01:21.140); 3. A S Alexander (Sparks Racing) (01:21.179). Batch 2: 1. Aditya Rao (Sparks Racing) (01:19.674); 2. Varun Sobhan (Speed Up Racing) (01:20.452); 3. M Nethaji (Pvt) (01:20.698).

TVS One-Make Championship – Novice (Batch 1): 1. Karthik Mateti (Hyderabad) (01min, 22.796secs); 2. A S Alexander (Chennai) (01:24.616); 3. Suhail Ahamed (Chennai) (01:25.432). Batch 2: 1. Mohamed Shafin (Kerala) (01:25.075); 2. Kesavan S (Chennai) (01:25.405); 3. Suneeth SR (Bengaluru) (01:25.802).

About Madras Motor Sports Club

The Madras Motor Sports Club has been the pioneer in developing and promoting motorsport in India since 1953, and we look to further improve in the years to come. It is the club’s endeavor to provide more opportunities for competitors and to this end, it has chalked out a progressive program for 2017. From the days of Sholavaram , MMSC built its own racetrack which was inaugurated in 1979 and secured its FIA Grade-2 international certification in 2015, making it the only club which owns such a facility. The club has organised the Porsche Super Cup, Formula Campos, Formula Asia, Asian touring car championships, Formula 3, Tata Prima Truck racing championship, the Asian 2-wheeler racing championships besides a host of other motorsport events over the years. The club also has active participation for its events from vehicle manufacturers who also use the Madras Motor Race Track (MMRT) extensively for testing their products.

Category: Motorsports

About admin

Karthik Kulal is the Web Master of our Group of Sports and News Websites! These are conceptualised and designed by Karthik to give importance to the content, it deserves without much fuss. Karthik follows sports keenly and is an avid coder based in Mangalore, Karnataka.

One thought on “Jagan Kumar of Team TVS Racing sets fastest time in Practice: Fmsci Bike Nationals

  1. admin Post author

    Alisha Abdullah also runs a team in the National Championships!

Comments are closed.