Railway women beat MP to win National Hockey title

By | February 11, 2018

Ranchi (Jharkhand)11 February 2018The Railway Sports Promotion Board proved to be a Champion Squad as they remained unbeaten to lift the 8th Hockey India Senior Women National Championship 2018 (A Division) here at the Astro Turf Hockey Stadium on Sunday.

Playing in front of a boisterous Ranchi crowd, the Railway Sports Promotion Board played their ‘A’ Game to beat Hockey Madhya Pradesh 4-0. They put up a structured defence to keep Hockey Madhya Pradesh attackers from making successful circle entries while the team’s attack led by forward Vandana Katariya charged into Hockey Madhya Pradesh’s circle with vigor. Railway Sports Promotion Board’s first goal was scored in the third quarter through Vandana Katariya’s field goal in the 36th minute. The two teams were in a stalemate the first two quarters.
Vandana scored yet another splendid goal in the 41st minute to take their lead to 2-0. Later, Priyanka Wankhede, who is the second top goal scorer of the tournament behind her teammate Anupa Barla, scored a scintillating field goal to not only put the Railway Sports Promotion Board 3-0 ahead in the 43rd minute but also took her total goals scored to 12 in the tournament. A good finish, with improvised attack, saw the winning team end their campaign with Vandana scoring a fine goal in the 59th minute.
In the Bronze Medal match, Hockey Haryana beat home team Hockey Jharkhand 2-0. It was experienced players Rani (19′) and Deepika (41′) who struck brilliant goals to help their team win after a disappointing outing in the Semi Final on Saturday where they lost 0-2 to Hockey Madhya Pradesh.
Category: Hockey Tags: , ,

About admin

Karthik Kulal is the Web Master of our Group of Sports and News Websites! These are conceptualised and designed by Karthik to give importance to the content, it deserves without much fuss. Karthik follows sports keenly and is an avid coder based in Mangalore, Karnataka.