India go down fighting to higher-ranked Belgium

By | January 28, 2018

Indian forwards were agile in moving the ball into the circle but were found wanting in the shootout as a scare Belgium before losing. Image from Hockey India

Hamilton (New Zealand), 28 January 2018: India displayed a scintillating stuff to hold Belgium to a draw in the regulation time and provided a scare to the fancied outfit befoe losing in the shoot-out.

India suffered a heartbreak 0-3 loss to Belgium in the penalty shootout. The held the stalwarts, ranked World No. 3 side to 4-4 in regulation time here in the final of the Four-Nation Invitational Hockey Tournament at the Gallagher Hockey Stadium on Sunday.

It was Felix Denayer, Sébastien Dockier and Arthur van Doren who scored for Belgium in the shootout while Tanguy Cosyns (41’), Cédric Charlier (43’), Amaury Keusters (51’) and Felix Denayer (56’) scored earlier during regulation time.

For India, Ramandeep Singh (29’, 53’), Nilakanta Sharma (42’) and Mandeep Singh (49’) were the goal scorers in regulation time.

Earlier in the day, Japan beat hosts New Zealand 4-1 in the shootout to win the Bronze Medal after holding the Black Sticks to 1-1 in regulation time.

 The final between India and Belgium was yet another goal-fest with both teams testing each other hooter-to-hooter in this high voltage encounter. It was a steady start for India as they were made to work hard to keep the ball. The Belgian attack meanwhile kept Indian goalkeeper PR Sreejesh busy through the first quarter with as many as three PCs including a penalty stroke. Their first PC coming in the 8th minute but Sreejesh was up to the task, lunging to his right to save. With 52 seconds for the first hooter, Belgium won two more PCs which were brilliantly saved by the Indian goalkeeper but it was the penalty stroke taken by the ever-dangerous Loïck Luypaert that Sreejesh saved which enthralled the evening audience in Hamilton.
India won two back-to-back PCs at the start of the second quarter but couldn’t make much of it but it was India who grabbed the 1-0 lead, thanks to clever work by Mandeep Singh in the circle finding Ramandeep Singh in the top of the circle. Ramandeep had the time to control it and take a sure shot into the goal.
The action intensified in the third quarter with Belgium upping their attack, winning an equalizer in the 41st minute through Tanguy Cosyns’s well-executed PC. Moments later, India’s Nilakanta Sharma was quick to pick up a beautiful assist from Mandeep Singh to strike the ball past Vincent Vanasch into Belgium post to regain 2-1 lead in the 42nd minute. But Belgium equalized in the following minute, via Cédric Charlier using reverse hit to send the ball between Sreejesh’s legs.
Four goals were scored in the final quarter showing just how intense this match was, playing down to the wire by both teams. India won back their lead twice in this quarter (3-2, 4-3) when Mandeep scored in the 49th minute followed by a sensational goal by Ramandeep Singh in the 53rd minute respectively. But Belgium, are not the ones to give up easy as they stayed in hunt snatching India’s lead through Amaury Keusters (51’) and Felix Denayer (56’) ensuring the match went into a penalty shootout.
  eom/posted by Smb
Category: Hockey Tags:

About admin

Karthik Kulal is the Web Master of our Group of Sports and News Websites! These are conceptualised and designed by Karthik to give importance to the content, it deserves without much fuss. Karthik follows sports keenly and is an avid coder based in Mangalore, Karnataka.