Hockey Gangpur-Odisha triumph over Uttar Pradesh Hockey 5-2

By | January 13, 2018

Hisar (Haryana), 13 January 2018: Action in the 8th Hockey India Sub Junior (Women) National Championship 2018 (A Division) continued into its fourth day here today in Hisar, Haryana with Hockey Jharkhand, Hockey Gangpur-Odisha, Hockey Odisha and Hockey Mizoram, all securing victories in their respective matches of the competition.

In the first match of the day, Hockey Jharkhand defeated Hockey Punjab 4-1 in Pool A. It was Hockey Jharkhand who started the scoring as they scored their first goal in the 15th minute through Anisha Dungdung and the added a second in the 27th minute through Deepika Soreng. However, Hockey Punjab pulled one back in the 41st minute when Chewang Tamang converted a penalty corner. But Hockey Jharkhand put their foot on the pedal and scored twice in the 65th and 69th minutes through Rajni Kerketta and captain Priya Dungdung respectively.

In Pool C, Hockey Gangpur-Odisha produced a resounding 5-2 win over Uttar Pradesh Hockey to register their second victory of the competition. Hockey Gangpur-Odisha scored twice in the first 13 minutes to take a 2-0 lead but Uttar Pradesh Hockey scored in the 23rd minute to pull a goal back. However, Hockey Gangpur-Odisha scored thrice more to take a 5-1 lead in the match which put them in a commanding position. Uttar Pradesh Hockey did score a second goal in the 65th minute but that wasn’t enough. Goals for Hockey Gangpur-Odisha was scored by Aten Topno (4′), Sunita Xaxa (13′), Sushmita Kerketta (24′), Manisha Oram (26′) and captain Jyoti Chhatri (59′) while Kajal Prajapati (23′) and skipper Vinamrata Yadav (65′) scored for Uttar Pradesh Hockey.

In another Pool C encounter, Hockey Andhra Pradesh and Hockey Karnataka played out a well-fought 1-1 draw. Both the teams went into the match in need of a victory as Hockey Karnataka had lost both their previous two matches in the competition and Hockey Andhra Pradesh had won one and lost one. The two teams played out a very competitive first half of the match, but at the stroke of half-time, Hockey Andhra Pradesh were awarded a penalty corner which was well-converted by Merry Lotla to give them a 1-0 lead. However, Hockey Karnataka looked for the equalizer in the second half and found one when B S Chandana converted a penalty corner in the 54th minute which meant that the match ended 1-1.

In Pool D, it was Hockey Odisha who defeated Hockey Bhopal 3-1 in a match that saw the former dominate most of the match. Hockey Odisha broke the deadlock in the 28th minute through captain Nimabati Singh. The leaders scored two more goals in the second half as Neha Lakra scored in the 41st minute and skipper Nimabati Singh added her second in the 65th minute. Hockey Bhopal scored a late consolation goal in the 70th minute of the match when Lanleibi Chanu K converted a penalty corner which saw the match end 3-1 in Hockey Odisha’s favour.

Hockey Mizoram produced an impressive performance in Pool B to register their second consecutive victory as they defeated Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu by a scoreline of 7-1. The match saw Hockey Mizoram dominate from the start as they scored five goals inside the first half, and added another two in the second half to take a 7-0 lead in the match. It was a tough day at the office for Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu as they could only score a consolation goal in the 50th minute of the match when P Abinaya scored for them. Goals for Hockey Mizoram were contributed by Lalneihpuii (42′, 44′), Lalnunsangi (8′), Lalthantluangi (12′), Lalvenhimi A Cory (15′), captain C S Ramsangliani (16′) and Lalrinpuii (31′).

Please find attached schedule of the 8th Hockey India Sub Junior (Women) National Championship 2018 (A Division).


Category: Hockey Tags:

About admin

Karthik Kulal is the Web Master of our Group of Sports and News Websites! These are conceptualised and designed by Karthik to give importance to the content, it deserves without much fuss. Karthik follows sports keenly and is an avid coder based in Mangalore, Karnataka.